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Notice to Readers 
 

This report provides brief highlights of new laws (Public Acts and Special Acts) affecting crime and 

public safety enacted during the 2018 regular legislative session. Each entry indicates the public 

act (PA) or special act (SA) number.  We do not include vetoed public acts, unless the legislature 

overrode the governor’s veto.  The report does not include bonding provisions.  

 

Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries of all 2018 public acts will 

soon be available on OLR’s website (www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp).  

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website (www.cga.ct.gov/). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover image by Freepik from Flaticon.com 
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Table on Penalties 

The law authorizes courts to impose imprisonment, fines, or both when sentencing a convicted 

criminal. Table 1 displays the range of prison terms and fines that judges may impose for each 

classification of crime. Some crimes have a mandatory minimum sentence not specified in the 

table. Also, repeated or persistent offenders may face higher sentences than specified here. 

 

Table 1: Crime Classifications and their Penalties 
 

Felony or Misdemeanor Prison Term Fine 

Class A felony—murder with 
special circumstances 

Life without the 
possibility of release 

Up to $20,000 

Class A felony—murder 25 to 60 years Up to $20,000 

Class A felony—aggravated sexual 
assault of a minor 

25 to 50 years Up to $20,000 

Class A felony 10 to 25 years Up to $20,000 

Class B felony—1st degree 
manslaughter with a firearm 

5 to 40 years Up to $15,000 

Class B felony 1 to 20 years Up to $15,000 

Class C felony 1 to 10 years Up to $10,000 

Class D felony Up to 5 years Up to $5,000 

Class E felony Up to 3 years Up to $3,500 

Class A misdemeanor Up to 1 year Up to $2,000 

Class B misdemeanor Up to 6 months Up to $1,000 

Class C misdemeanor Up to 3 months Up to $500 

Class D misdemeanor Up to 30 days Up to $250 
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Crimes and Penalties 

Aggravated Assault of a Public Transit Employee 

A new law creates a specific class C felony offense with a maximum fine of $20,000 for aggravated 

assault of a public transit employee.  Under the new law, such aggravated assault is committed 

when a person assaults a public transit employee and in doing so uses, is armed with and 

threatens to use, or displays or represents by words or conduct that he or she has a knife, box-

cutter, or firearm (PA 18-167, § 11, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Bump Stocks 

A new law generally makes it a class D felony for anyone to sell, transfer, purchase, possess, use, 

or manufacture a “rate of fire enhancement” (e.g., a bump stock). The new law, among other 

things: 

1. exempts manufacturers fulfilling military contracts;  

2. provides a 90-day grace period for individuals who move into the state, or military personnel 

returning from deployment, to render their bump stock permanently inoperable, remove it 

from Connecticut, or surrender it to DESPP;  

3. reduces the penalty to a class D misdemeanor for certain first time offenders who possess 

valid firearms permits or eligibility certificates; and  

4. gives the court specific discretion to suspend prosecution for violations not serious in nature 

(PA 18-29, most provisions effective October 1, 2018). 

Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Violations 

A new law increases civil and criminal penalties for various offenses related to cigarette and 

tobacco products sales.  Among other things, it increases, from a class D to a class C felony, the 

penalties for: 

1. repeat violations of the cigarette shipment or transport law; 

2. willful attempt to evade cigarette taxes or failing to pay the taxes on 20,000 or more 

cigarettes; 

3. illegal sales of untaxed tobacco products that would be taxed at least $2,500 and willful 

attempt to evade tobacco products taxes or failing to pay tobacco product taxes of $2,500 

or more; and 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=167
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=29
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4. willful delivery or disclosure to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) of fraudulent or 

false cigarette or tobacco products tax documents. 

It increases penalties for selling (1) cigarettes or taxed tobacco products without a DRS license, (2) 

untaxed cigarettes or tobacco products, and (3) improperly packaged cigarettes. It also (1) expands 

the definition of racketeering activity under the Corrupt Organizations and Racketeering Act to 

include willfully attempting to evade cigarette taxes or failing to pay the taxes on 20,000 or more 

cigarettes and (2) removes from the definition possessing, transporting for sale, selling, or offering 

for sale 20,000 or more cigarettes in certain stamped or illegally stamped packages (PA 18-25, §§ 

1-8, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Doctors of Physical Therapy 

Under a new law, it is a class D felony for someone without the proper credentials to refer to 

himself or herself as a “Doctor of Physical Therapy” or “D.P.T.” (PA 18-168, § 67, effective July 1, 

2018). 

 

Improper Use of Driver’s Licenses and Vehicle Registrations  

The legislature increased, from $100 to $500, the maximum criminal fine for (1) using another 

person’s vehicle registration or driver’s license or (2) using a vehicle registration on a vehicle other 

than the one for which it was issued (PA 18-164, § 27, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Private Property Owners Issuing Parking Tickets 

A new law prohibits private property owners and lessees from issuing parking tickets to owners of 

vehicles parked on their property.  Violators face (1) a $50 fine for a first offense and (2) for 

subsequent offenses, a $50 to $100 fine, up to 30 days in prison, or both. Private property owners 

and lessees are still permitted to tow or render immovable (i.e., “boot”) unauthorized vehicles left 

on their property (PA 18-164, § 15, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Robocalls and Spoofing 

A new law makes it a class A misdemeanor for someone to intentionally use a blocking device or 

service to circumvent a Connecticut customer's caller ID to transmit certain unsolicited recorded 

messages through devices that do not immediately disconnect when the customer hangs up (e.g., 

robocalls) (PA 18-135, effective October 1, 2018). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=25
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=168
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=135
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Sewage Spill Notice 

The legislature passed a law requiring operators of sewage treatment plants, water pollution control 

facilities, related pumping stations, collections systems, or other public sewage works to 

electronically report to the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) within two 

hours of becoming aware of a sewage spill. And if the spill exceeds 5,000 gallons, they must also 

notify the chief elected municipal official where the spill occurred and the municipality must then 

notify the public and downstream public officials. The new law imposes civil or criminal penalties, 

depending on the severity of the violation, for failing to report as required (PA 18-97, effective upon 

passage). 

 

Snapping and Red-Eared Slider Turtles 

A new law prohibits the (1) commercial trade in snapping turtles until DEEP adopts applicable 

regulations; (2) import of red-eared slider turtles, with two exceptions; and (3) release of red-eared 

slider turtles to Connecticut’s land or waters. The exceptions for importing red-eared slider turtles 

are for (1) scientific or educational institutions and (2) buying or selling turtles with unique color 

patterns. A violation is a class C misdemeanor (PA 18-114, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

Criminal Background Checks 

Care 4 Kids and Relative Caregivers 

The legislature enacted a new law that exempts relatives who provide child care and are Care 4 

Kids recipients from comprehensive background checks, including state and national criminal 

history records checks, and instead requires them to submit to other types of background checks, 

including the Connecticut Online Law Enforcement Communication Teleprocessing System (PA 18-

172, § 7, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Contracting for Fingerprinting Services   

A new law allows the DESPP commissioner to enter into agreements with independent contractors 

to electronically take and transmit fingerprints and demographic information to the State Police 

Bureau of Identification for processing criminal history record checks (PA 18-161, § 1, effective July 

1, 2018). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=97
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=114
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=172
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=172
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=161
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DDS Facility Background Search Program 

Existing law requires the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) to conduct state criminal 

background checks on any job applicant who will provide direct services to people with intellectual 

disability. A new law also subjects these applicants to fingerprinting and national criminal 

background checks.  

 

The new law also allows DDS to subject private providers licensed or funded by the department to 

state criminal background checks. Prior law allowed DDS to subject private subcontractors to these 

checks.  Additionally, the new law allows DDS and private providers to employ applicants on a 

conditional basis until they receive and review the background check results, which prior law 

prohibited (PA 18-168, § 52, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

Criminal Procedure 

Bail Bond Termination and Release 

A new law adds to the circumstances under which a posted bail bond in a criminal proceeding must 

be automatically terminated and released to include when the defendant is admitted to a 

diversionary program for young people charged with certain motor vehicle or alcohol-related 

offenses (PA 18-75, § 14, effective upon passage.) 

 

Competency to Stand Trial 

A new law decreases how often certain criminal defendants deemed incompetent to stand trial 

must be examined. Generally, this legislation covers defendants charged with certain sex offenses 

or crimes that resulted in death or serious physical injury.   

 

Under prior law, the court could order periodic competency examinations as often as every six 

months as a condition of release or placement for a defendant deemed incompetent despite 

treatment to restore competency. Under the new law, the minimum interval between examinations 

increases to 18 months if, after the initial periodic examination, the court again finds a substantial 

probability that the defendant will never regain competency even with treatment.  Under existing 

law, periodic examinations must continue until the (1) defendant attains competency or (2) time 

within which the defendant may be charged for the alleged crime expires, whichever occurs first (PA 

18-134, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=168
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=215
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=5557
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=5557
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Newly Discovered Evidence 

Existing law generally prohibits individuals from petitioning for a new trial in a civil or criminal 

proceeding if three years or more have passed since the court rendered the judgment, but grants 

an exception if the petition is based on DNA evidence that was not discoverable or available at the 

time of the original trial. A new law (1) specifies that the exception based on DNA evidence applies 

only to criminal proceedings and (2) allows for that exception only if the DNA evidence was not 

discoverable or available (a) at the original trial or (b) at any previous petition for a new trial based 

on DNA or other newly discovered evidence. It also allows for additional exceptions to the three-year 

limit for other newly discovered evidence and permits the court to grant these petitions if it finds 

that, had such evidence been presented at trial, there is a reasonable likelihood there would have 

been a different trial outcome (PA 18-61, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Post-Conviction Release 

A new law eliminates an obsolete provision from a law on post-conviction release on bond of certain 

defendants awaiting sentencing or appeal. Removing the provision conforms to a court case that 

held the language to be unconstitutional (State v. McCahill, 261 Conn. 492 (2002)) (PA 18-127, 

effective upon passage).  

 

Domestic Violence 

Dominant Aggressor in Family Violence Complaints 

A new law (1) requires a peace officer, when responding to a family violence complaint made by two 

or more opposing parties, to arrest the person the officer determines is the dominant aggressor 

and (2) gives the officer immunity from civil liability based on these actions. It establishes the 

factors a peace officer must consider in determining who the dominant aggressor is, such as the 

need to protect domestic violence victims, whether one person acted to defend himself or herself or 

a third person, and the relative degree of any injury.  The act does not prohibit dual arrests, but 

discourages them when appropriate (PA 18-5, effective January 1, 2019).   

 

Juvenile Justice 

Transfer of Juvenile Services from DCF to the Court Support Services 

Division (CSSD) 

Starting on July 1, 2018, a new law transfers legal authority from the Department of Children and 

Families (DCF) to the judicial branch over any child who was committed to DCF as a delinquent 

pursuant to a juvenile court order entered before that date. The branch’s CSSD must, in turn, 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=61
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=5477
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=5
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assume responsibility for supervising the children and may exercise its powers, duties, and 

functions to provide such supervision. Existing law prohibits the juvenile court, starting July 1, 

2018, from committing a child to DCF as a result of a delinquency adjudication. 

 

The new law also makes numerous other changes in the juvenile justice and related statutes. For 

example, it (1) makes changes in laws related to educating individuals involved in the juvenile 

justice system (such as requiring certain school districts to designate a liaison to facilitate 

transitions between the district and the juvenile justice system); (2) limits and modifies the ways 

that the juvenile court may dispose of a delinquency adjudication; (3) modifies the probation 

conditions the court may order; and (4) makes numerous conforming changes (PA 18-31, most 

sections are effective on July 1, 2018).  

 

Law Enforcement 

Child Care Center Emergency Contact Information 

A new law requires licensed child care centers, group child care homes, and family child care 

homes to give their contact information to the Office of Early Childhood (OEC), rather than the police 

department with jurisdiction of the location, and requires OEC to share this information through a 

memorandum of understanding with DESPP to be used in an emergency notification system that 

notifies the provider when the safety or welfare of the children at the centers or homes may be 

endangered (PA 18-172, § 6, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Connecticut Airport Authority (CAA) Appointing a Police Officer 

A new law allows the DESPP commissioner to commission, upon CAA's application, one person to 

serve as a sworn police officer with arrest powers on property, business, and airplanes owned or 

controlled by the authority (PA 18-142, effective upon passage). 

 

Law Enforcement Recording Equipment Grant Program Expansion 

A new law expands the types of equipment eligible for reimbursement, within available resources, 

under a law enforcement recording equipment grant program administered by the Office of Policy 

and Management. 

 

The new law (1) expands the program to include reimbursing municipalities that replace dashboard 

cameras purchased before December 31, 2010, with those with a remote recorder in FYs 17 and 

18; (2) requires municipalities that are not reimbursed for such replacement dashboard cameras to 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=31
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=172
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=142
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be reimbursed, within available resources, for up to 50% of the costs for cameras purchased in FY 

19; and (3) extends the deadline, from the end of FY 17 to the end of FY 18, to purchase digital 

data storage devices or services eligible for reimbursement (PA 18-107, effective upon passage). 

 

Minimum Standards and Practices for Administering and Managing 

Law Enforcement 

Under a new law, the Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) and the DESPP 

commissioner, within available appropriations, must jointly develop, adopt, and revise, as 

necessary, minimum standards and practices for administering and managing law enforcement 

units.  Beginning January 1, 2019, the new law requires those units to adopt and maintain (1) the 

minimum standards and practices developed by POST or (2) a higher level of accreditation 

standards developed by POST or the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, 

Inc.   

 

The new law requires POST and the DESPP commissioner to develop a process for reviewing 

compliance, including a certificate of compliance.  Additionally, it prohibits a civil action from being 

brought against a law enforcement unit for damages arising from failure to adopt and maintain the 

minimum standards and practices or a higher level of accreditation standards (PA 18-161, § 2, 

effective January 1, 2019).   

 

Opioid Antagonist Distribution Agreement 

A new law authorizes prescribers and pharmacists authorized to prescribe naloxone to enter into an 

agreement with a law enforcement agency, EMS provider, government agency, or community health 

organization concerning the distribution and administration of opioid antagonists.  Among other 

things, the new law requires the prescribers and pharmacists to provide training to the individuals 

who will distribute or administer opioid antagonists under such an agreement (PA 18-166, § 3, 

effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Police Escorts During Transport of Certain Housing Structures  

A new law requires the Department of Transportation (DOT) to establish a one-year pilot program 

(beginning July 1, 2018) to allow vehicles to transport certain oversize loads (e.g., motor homes or 

modular homes) on limited access highways (other than I-95) during daylight hours. DOT may grant 

permits for such travel only if (1) the transporting vehicle has three police vehicle escorts and (2) 

the travel does not obstruct DOT’s or any municipality’s construction or maintenance activities.  

Under the law, the police escort is responsible for assuring compliance with the permit granted by 

DOT (PA 18-167, § 10, effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=107
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=161
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=167
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Police Pursuits 

A new law requires POST to develop standardized forms for (1) reporting each police pursuit and (2) 

submitting annual reports on such pursuits.   

 

Beginning January 1, 2019, the new law requires the DESPP commissioner and local police chiefs 

to require each police officer who engages in a pursuit to report it using POST’s standard form.  And 

beginning by January 31, 2020, the DESPP commissioner and local police chiefs must submit an 

annual report to POST regarding pursuits by their police officers.  By April 30, 2020, and annually 

thereafter, POST must compile, analyze, and summarize the annual reports and submit a 

consolidated police pursuit report with any legislative recommendations to the Public Safety and 

Security Committee (PA 18-161, § 3, effective October 1, 2018).   

 

Reports of Fatal Accidents  

A new law requires the police or other investigators of fatal motor vehicle accidents to refer the 

case to the state’s attorney in the district where the accident took place if they are unable to 

determine the accident’s cause. It also allows the state’s attorney to refer the matter to the State 

Police for review and further investigation.  For fatal accidents, this new law also requires the 

accident report to include, if possible and practicable, a conclusion as to the accident’s cause (PA 

18-3, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Prison 

Department of Correction (DOC) 

A new law makes various changes in the statutes governing DOC. Among these changes, it: 

1. requires the DOC commissioner, within available appropriations, to establish a wellness 

initiative for correctional facility employees who interact with inmates; 

2. requires the commissioner or his designee, instead of the warden at the correctional facility 

where an inmate will be released, to review the inmate’s records and verify that the inmate 

earned any risk reduction credits being applied to reduce his or her sentence; and 

3. makes the Office of Policy and Management’s Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division, 

instead of the DOC commissioner, primarily responsible for quarterly reporting to the 

legislature about earned risk reduction credits awarded to reduce an inmate’s sentence (PA 

18-155, effective October 1, 2018, except the wellness initiative provision is effective July 1, 

2018).  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=161
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=3
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=3
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=521
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=521
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Pilot Methadone Treatment Program  

Prior law allowed DOC to initiate an 18-month pilot treatment program for methadone maintenance 

and other drug therapies at correctional facilities.  A new law extends the program, expands its 

scope if federal funds are available, and requires a new report on the program's results by July 1, 

2019. 

 

It also requires DOC, by January 15, 2019, and in consultation with specified agencies, to review 

the pilot program and report on specified matters, such as a comprehensive plan for expanding the 

program to serve all state inmates with opioid use disorders.  If federal funds are available, DOC 

must expand the pilot program, including offering the program to additional facilities, increasing the 

number of inmates with access, or providing partial opioid agonists through the program (PA 18-

166, §§ 6 & 7, effective upon passage). 

 

Pregnant Inmates 

The legislature made several changes in laws that govern DOC’s treatment of inmates, primarily 

establishing new requirements applicable to pregnant inmates. Among other things, the new law: 

 

1. requires that each inmate admitted to the York Correctional Institution (the state’s only 

correctional institution for female offenders) be assessed for pregnancy upon admission to 

the institution; 

2. gives pregnant inmates the right to receive specified services and supplies, including 

counseling, medical care, and appropriate clothing and sanitary materials; and 

3. generally prohibits the use of restraints on pregnant inmates, including during 

transportation, labor and delivery, and during the postpartum period, and requires written 

documentation when certain restraints are used (PA 18-4, most provisions effective October 

1, 2018). 

Special Parole 

A new law makes changes in sentencing laws as they pertain to special parole.  “Special parole” is 

parole ordered by the court as part of the sentence when someone is convicted of a crime. The 

judge can require a period of special parole under supervision after an offender completes his or 

her maximum prison sentence.   

 

 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=4
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Specifically, the new law: 

1. eliminates special parole as a sentencing option for convictions of offenses related to 

dependency-producing drugs; 

2. prohibits the court from imposing a period of special parole unless it determines that special 

parole is necessary to ensure public safety; and 

3. allows the Board of Pardons and Paroles to discharge, from DOC custody, a person on 

special parole who the board believes will lead an orderly life (PA 18-63, effective October 1, 

2018).     

Task Forces, Working Groups, and Studies 

Body-Worn Recording Equipment Task Force 

PA 17-225 established a task force to examine the use of body-worn recording equipment by state 

and local police in accordance with the law. A new law expands the task force’s charge by requiring 

it to examine under what circumstances, if any, (1) a police officer should be permitted to review a 

recording from such equipment before giving a formal statement about his or her or another 

officer’s use of force and (2) members of the public or alleged victims or their family members 

should be permitted to review a recording from such equipment during an investigation or following 

an allegation that a police officer used excessive force. The new law also extends the task force’s 

reporting deadline from February 1, 2018, to January 1, 2019 (PA 18-187, effective upon passage). 

 

Courthouse Security Review 

Under a new law, the Chief Court Administrator must cause an internal review to be made of the 

security procedures at courthouses, and by January 1, 2019, make any recommendations for 

legislation to enhance such security to the Judiciary Committee (SA 18-11, effective upon passage).  

 

Opioid Intervention Court Feasibility Study  

A new law requires the Chief Court Administrator, in consultation with the Chief Public Defender, 

Chief State's Attorney, and the UConn School of Law's dean, or their designees, to study the 

feasibility of establishing one or more courts that specialize in hearing criminal or juvenile matters 

where a defendant is an opioid-dependent person who could benefit from intensive court 

monitoring and a substance abuse treatment program. By January 1, 2019, the Chief Court 

Administrator or his designee must report the results of the study to the Judiciary Committee (PA 

18-166, § 1, effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=63
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=225
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=187
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=11
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=166
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Reentry Housing Working Group  

A new law requires the Commission on Equity and Opportunity to convene a working group to (1) 

study housing options for people reentering the community after being released from prison and (2) 

recommend an evidence-based housing policy for these individuals. The working group must 

submit its recommendations to the Housing Committee by January 1, 2019 (SA 18-14, effective 

upon passage).   

 

Victim Rights and Services 

Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Procedures  

Under a new law, health care facilities that collect sexual assault evidence must contact a sexual 

assault counselor when a person who identifies himself or herself as a sexual assault victim arrives 

at the facility. The new law also requires (1) DESPP, by October 1, 2018, to implement an electronic 

tracking system for sexual assault evidence collection kits and (2) the Commission on the 

Standardization of the Collection of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations to develop guidelines 

on how to use the kits and policies and procedures to ensure that each victim has access to 

information about his or her kit (PA 18-83, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Sexual Assault Victims’ Identifying Information  

A new law extends to victims of aggravated sexual assault of a minor specified protections that 

existing law gives to certain sexual assault and other victims regarding the confidentiality of their 

names and other personal information. For example, the act limits the circumstances in which 

courts can require the victim to divulge his or her address or phone number during a trial or pretrial 

evidentiary hearing (PA 18-75, §§ 15 & 16, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

Victim Restitution 

A new law requires the court, when sentencing an individual who was convicted of a criminal 

offense, to inquire on the record whether there are any requests from victims for restitution. 

Existing law, unchanged by the new legislation, requires the court to order an offender to make 

financial restitution, under terms that it determines are appropriate, if the (1) individual was 

convicted of an offense that resulted in injury to another person or property; (2) victim requests 

financial restitution; and (3) court finds that the victim suffered injury or property damage as a 

result of the offense (PA 18-128, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=14
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=17
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=215
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=128
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Miscellaneous 

Affirmative Defense for Entering a Vehicle to Remove an Animal 

Under certain circumstances, a new law provides an affirmative defense against civil damages or 

criminal penalties to someone who enters a passenger motor vehicle, including by the use of force, 

to remove an animal who he or she reasonably believes is in imminent danger of serious bodily 

injury. Existing law provides such a defense, subject to the same conditions, to someone who 

enters a vehicle to remove a child (PA 18-164, § 16, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

Causing an Accident while Tailgating 

By law, failing to drive a reasonable distance apart from another vehicle (“tailgating”) is an 

infraction. A new law creates a separate, higher penalty (a fine ranging from $100 to $200) for 

causing an accident while tailgating (PA 18-164, § 29, effective October 1, 2018).  

 

DCF Records Disclosures  

A new law expands the circumstances under which DCF must disclose its records to the Chief 

State’s Attorney’s Office without a subject’s consent. Under the new law, the department must 

make such disclosures for investigating or prosecuting alleged benefits fraud, provided no 

information identifying the subject is disclosed unless the information is essential to the 

investigation or prosecution. Existing law additionally requires DCF to make such disclosures to the 

Chief State’s Attorney’s Office in order to investigate or prosecute allegations (1) related to child 

abuse or neglect, (2) that an individual falsely reported suspected child abuse or neglect, or (3) that 

a mandated reporter failed to report child abuse or neglect (PA 18-111, § 4, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Helmets for Children Bicycling, Skateboarding, Skating, and 

Scootering 

A new law requires children under age 16 to wear protective headgear whenever they use a bicycle, 

skateboard, roller skates, in-line skates, or non-motorized scooter on a public road or at any park.  

Under prior law, helmets were only required when children bicycled on a public road.  By law, failure 

to wear protective headgear is not considered a violation or an offense and cannot be considered 

contributory negligence by a parent or a child or be admissible in any civil action (PA 18-167, § 12, 

effective October 1, 2018). 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=111
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=167
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Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) for Indigent Offenders 

A new law allows IID service providers to reduce or eliminate charges for IID installation, 

maintenance, removal, or other services that they provide to eligible indigent offenders, regardless 

of any law requiring that such offenders bear such costs. The law applies to indigent offenders 

whose IID use is required as a result of driving under the influence (DUI) and other specified 

offenses (PA 18-30, effective October 1, 2018). 

 

Immunity from Liability for Providing Medical Assistance or 

Intervention in a Child Abuse or Neglect Case 

A new law provides immunity from civil and criminal liability to any person, institution, or agency 

that, in good faith, provides professional medical intervention or assistance in any proceeding 

involving child abuse or neglect. The immunity applies to liability that might otherwise arise from, or 

is related to, certain specified actions (e.g., performing a medically relevant test). 

 

The new law also eliminates immunity for any person, institution, or agency that, in good faith, does 

not report suspected child abuse or neglect or alleged sexual assault of a student to the 

Department of Children and Families (DCF) or law enforcement in compliance with the state’s 

mandated reporter laws (PA 18-57, effective July 1, 2018, and applicable to any civil action 

pending or filed on or after that date). 

 

Security Officer License Applicants   

A new law establishes conditions under which security services may employ applicants for a 

security officer license to work as security officers while their applications are pending.  Under prior 

law, only individuals licensed by the DESPP commissioner could be hired as, and perform the duties 

of, security officers (PA 18-20, effective July 1, 2018).    
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